Following the Leaders

Standard

My life is full of people I want to follow.  I work with some of the most amazing teachers on the planet.  I serve with selfless people who pursue Christ with every ounce of strength they have.  I worship among the most passionate.  I study with a bunch of smartypants.  I look around and am constantly nudged to give more…in the classroom, in the church, in my studies.  The examples around me are a source of power in my life.

Those aren’t the leaders that this post’s title is referring to.  There are people who push me to new limits in my life that I’ve never even met.  I’ve prayed with them through major life/career changes, cross country moves, sending children to Kindergarten, and opening a new church. 

People like Amanda Jones.  I’ve been a silent follower of this wife and mother’s blog for years.  I don’t know why or how I found it.  Most of Amanda’s posts are about motherhood.  I don’t have children.  However, God has used this blog in my life to help me see the needs around me.  Amanda introduced me to one of my newest loves…an organization in India called As Our Own…that ministers to girls taken from brothels.  From the moment she wrote about this ministry, I could think of little else.  One day in my time with the Lord, He said to me, “Today is the day you invest.  Jump in!”  I posted on twitter how grateful I was that Amanda was such an advocate for the least of these. 

Grant Jenkins stands out in my mind for his incredible story of loss, obedience, and provision.  When I started following Grant on twitter, he was working at a Starbucks and would post some fantastic new concoctions.  I watched as Grant served and loved with passion.  After the Nashville flood and the Joplin tornado, Grant jumped into action selflessly.  Grant’s blog is tells a redemption story worth the read.   From what I can tell on twitter, Grant is all about community.  His life is lived intentionally, pouring into others and himself.  An example for all.

Then there is Ann Voskamp.   I love how she uses the word “grace” in almost every tweet.  Ann moves through twitter speaking kindness and encouragement.  I can tell she is a woman of simple compassion.  I’ve recently purchased her book One Thousand Gifts and am constantly challenged by her blog.

How then shall I live?  Will I float through my life busy and unaware?  Will I make moments count?  Will I reach out and touch my sphere of influence with the same passion and compassion as these I’ve discussed.  My only reply can be:

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, 2looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:1

That’s what this new blog is about…living obediently in this season.  For those mentioned in this post, thank you for the example.  I’ll probably continue to follow you silently, but know you are being prayed for.  May He get every drop of glory as we run after Him.

 

Leave a comment